Investor-State Mediation Task Force Convened

The IMI Independent Standards Commission has convened a Task Force to assist parties, their counsel and institutions to use mediation more effectively in investor-state dispute settlement. <Read More>

Objectives of the IMI Investor-State Mediation Task Force:

  1. Offer practical guidelines for using the cooling off period to give mediation a viable chance.
  2. Determine minimum standards of knowledge, skills and relevant experience for neutrals involved in Investor-State mediation.
  3. Assist the parties in finding competent and suitable mediators or co-mediators for Investor-State disputes.
  4. Ensure a Designating Authority is identified if the parties cannot agree on one.
  5. Provide model documents, decision trees, and case assessment tools to assist the parties and their counsel in Investor-State disputes to gain fresh insights into their case, and better understand each party’s interests, needs and concerns.
  6. Keep the Mediation Rules quite distinct from Conciliation Rules.
  7. Enable the creative use of hybrids, such as Dispute Resolution Boards.
  8. Promote arbitral consent awards as a way to implement mediated settlements.

Membership of the IMI Investor-State Mediation Task Force

Co-Chair: Anna Joubin-Bret, Partner, Foley Hoag, with a practice focus representing Sovereign States in international investment arbitrations. Former Senior Legal Adviser in the Investment & Enterprise Division at UNCTAD advising Governments on international investment policies and management of investor-State disputes. Former co-Chair of the IBA State Mediation Sub-Committee that prepared the 2012 IBA Rules for Investor-State Mediation. Paris.

Co-Chair: Barton Legum, Partner, Dentons. Head of Dentons’ investment treaty arbitration practice with a focus representing companies in international investment arbitrations. Former Chief of the NAFTA Arbitration Division at the US State Department. Chair of the ABA Section of International Law. Former co-Chair of the IBA State Mediation Sub-Committee that prepared the 2012 IBA Rules for Investor-State Mediation. Paris..

Suzana M. Blades, Senior Counsel Arbitrations, ConocoPhillips Company, US.

Prof. Jack J. Coe Jr., Pepperdine University School of Law, US.

Silvia Constain, Deputy Chief of Mission, Colombian Embassy, US.

Roberto Echandi, Global Product Leader, Investment Policy World Bank – US.

Prof. Susan D. Franck, Washington and Lee University School of Law – US.

Jason Fry, Co-Head, International Arbitration Group, Clifford Chance – France.

Patrick Green, Henderson Chambers – UK.

Fatma Khalifa, Egyptian State Lawsuits Authority – Egypt.

Meg Kinnear, Secretary-General, ICSID – US.

Jeremy Lack, ADR Neutral – Switzerland.

Annette Magnusson, Secretary General, Arbitration Institute, Stockholm Chamber of Commerce – Sweden.

Vilawan Mangklatanakul, Minister Counselor, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Thailand.

Michael McIlwrath, Senior Counsel Litigation, GE Infrastructure Oil and Gas – Italy.

Karen Mills, Arbitrator, KarimSyah Law Firm, Jakarta – Indonesia.

Frauke Nitschke, Legal Counsel, ICSID – US.

Michael Ostrove, Head of Arbitration DLA Piper LLP Paris – France.

Mohamed Raouf, Secretary General, Cairo Regional Centre for International Commercial Arbitration.

Eduardo Silva Romero, Partner, International Arbitration, Dechert LLP Paris – France.

Margrete Stevens, Consultant on Investment Treaty matters, King & Spalding – US.

Hannah Tümpel, Manager, International Centre for ADR, ICC – France.

Vivekananda N., Deputy Registrar, Singapore International Arbitration Centre.

Prof. Nancy A. Welsh, Penn State University, Dickinson School of Law – US.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Basket
Scroll to Top