الجودة والاعتماد

عندما تم تأسيس المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق في عام 2007 ، لم تكن هناك معايير جودة قابلة للتطبيق دوليًا للوسطاء ، ولم يكن هناك مخطط اعتماد دولي. كانت NADRAC في أستراليا تدرس معايير الممارسة والموافقة على مستوى أساسي بعد التدريب ، وكان CEDR ، وهو مزود خدمة وساطة مقره في المملكة المتحدة ، يعتمد الوسطاء على نفس الأساس بعد التدريب. ومع ذلك ، كانت NMI فقط ، وهي هيئة غير ربحية وغير موفرة للخدمة في هولندا ، مدعومة من الحكومة الهولندية ، تصادق على كفاءة الوسطاء ذوي الخبرة محليًا على مستوى عالٍ قائم على الخبرة.

يعتقد مجلس IMI أنه لكي يثق المستخدمون في الوسطاء ، وبالتالي لاستخدام الوساطة بشكل أكثر تكرارًا وبنتائج أفضل ، فمن الضروري اعتماد الوسطاء على مستوى عالٍ قائم على الخبرة. أثبتت النتائج في هولندا حكمة هذه الاستراتيجية. في عام 2011 ، كان هناك ما يقدر (1) 52,000 وساطة مدنية وتجارية في هولندا ، وهي دولة يبلغ عدد سكانها 17 مليون نسمة ولديها خطة واحدة لإصدار شهادات وسيط رفيع المستوى يديرها كيان غير مقدم. على النقيض من ذلك ، في المملكة المتحدة ، وهي دولة يبلغ عدد سكانها 63 مليون نسمة ، حيث تعتبر الوساطة ناجحة ، ولكن مع عدم وجود خطة وطنية لإصدار الشهادات ، كان هناك فقط تقدير (2) 8,000 وساطة في عام 2012. على أساس نصيب الفرد ، كان تواتر الوساطة في هولندا في عام 2011 أكبر بحوالي 24 مرة من المملكة المتحدة. يبدو أن المستخدمين في هولندا لديهم ثقة أكبر بكثير في جودة الوسطاء ، واحترام الوساطة كطريقة لحل النزاعات ، مقارنة بالمستخدمين في المملكة المتحدة.

نظرت IMI في تبني عملية الاعتماد التي تطبقها NMI في هولندا على المستوى الدولي. وقد استند إلى تقييم طرف ثالث تم إجراؤه وفقًا لمعيار ISO 17,024،XNUMX (شهادة كفاءة الأفراد) ولكنه اعتُبر بيروقراطيًا وغير مرن وصعب التكيف ثقافيًا وقضائيًا ومكلفًا وبطيئًا. علاوة على ذلك ، كانت معايير التقييم المستخدمة ملكية خاصة ، ولم يكن مالك حقوق الطبع والنشر على استعداد للسماح بتكييفها أو مشاركتها مع الآخرين دون موافقته.

وبالتالي ، لم تتبنى IMI مخطط NMI (الذي تخلت عنه NMI نفسها منذ ذلك الحين) وطوّرت عملية شهادة الكفاءة عالية المستوى الخاصة بها ، بمساعدة أعضاء لجنة المعايير المستقلة IMI. على وجه الخصوص ، كان البحث المنشور من قبل كريستوفر هانيمان حول المعايير القائمة على الأداء وتقييم الوسطاء ، بالإضافة إلى تطوير المعايير في كندا وأستراليا والأرجنتين ، متاحًا أيضًا لمركز ISC في IMI لنمذجة مخطط الاعتماد الخاص به.

لا يمكن تنفيذ نظام الشهادات الذي ابتكره المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق إلا من قبل المنظمات التي تمت الموافقة عليها من قبل لجنة المعايير المستقلة بناءً على الطلبات المقدمة إلى مركز الدراسات الدولي لتطبيق مجموعة من المعايير المحددة (3). بمجرد الموافقة عليها ، تُعرف هذه المنظمات باسم برامج التقييم المؤهلة (QAPs) ، وهي مخولة لتأهيل الوسطاء للحصول على شهادة IMI. مزايا هذا المخطط هي:

  • لا يؤهل المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق الوسطاء - ويتم ذلك من قبل أولئك الذين لديهم برامج QAPs.
  • من غير المحتمل أن يكون هناك نوعان من QAPs متماثلان تمامًا ، مما يسمح بالتكيف المحلي.
  • يجب أن تتأهل جميع QAPs لنفس معايير الكفاءة العالية التي حددها مركز الدراسات الدولي.
  • يمكن أن تقدم QAPs أوراق الاعتماد الخاصة بها لتتوافق مع شهادة IMI ، وبالتالي رفع المعايير المحلية.

يمارس IMI السيطرة على QAPs من خلال مطالبة الوسطاء المؤهلين بواسطة QAP لإكمال ملف تعريف الوسيط المعتمد IMI بتنسيق محدد مسبقًا ، ولا يمكن للوسطاء تسمية أنفسهم معتمدين من IMI حتى تتم الموافقة على ملفهم التعريفي بواسطة IMI ونشره على بوابة الويب IMI . كما يقوم المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق بإجراء عمليات تدقيق دورية لمعايير الجودة السريعة لضمان تنفيذها بشكل صحيح لمعايير المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق. يوجد حتى الآن 39 برنامجًا قابلاً للتكيف في 22 دولة ، وأكثر من 480 وسيطًا معتمدًا من المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق على محرك البحث IMI في 47 دولة ، بما في ذلك 7 دول جنوب الصحراء الكبرى و 4 دول في أمريكا الجنوبية و 6 في الشرق الأوسط.

ردود الفعل

جزء إلزامي من كل ملف تعريف وسيط معتمد من IMI هو ملخص الملاحظات ، وهو ملخص مُعد بشكل مستقل لتعليقات المستخدمين التي تم جمعها بواسطة الوسيط باستخدام نموذج طلب ملاحظات IMI أو نموذج مشابه. بمجرد الانتهاء من قبل المستخدمين هذه الملاحظات مجهولةymized وتحويلها إلى ملخص بواسطة مراجع مستقل يختاره الوسيط. يجب الكشف عن هوية المحكم في الملف الشخصي ، ونتيجة لذلك فإن مصداقية ملخص الملاحظات لها علاقة كبيرة بمصداقية المحكم. يمكن للمراجع فقط تحميل ملخص الملاحظات على الملف الشخصي للوسيط وتعديله بعد ذلك. عند تجميع ملخص الملاحظات ، يجب على المراجع اتباع الإرشادات المنشورة بواسطة IMI. بمجرد اكتمال ملف التعريف والتحقق منه بواسطة IMI ، يتم نشره على محرك بحث IMI ويكون الوسيط معتمدًا من IMI.

تعتبر التعليقات مفيدة بشكل استثنائي للمستخدمين ، فهي لا توفر فقط طمأنة الخبرة والكفاءة ، ولكنها توفر أيضًا نظرة ثاقبة موثوقة حول ملاءمة الوسيط للنزاع. قلة قليلة من الوسطاء تجعل تعليقات المستخدم السابقة شفافة ، لكنها تعتبر معلومات أساسية من قبل معظم المستخدمين لأغراض اختيار وسيط موثوق.

عقدت لجنة المعايير المستقلة لجنة للأخلاقيات ، برئاسة البروفيسور إلين والدمان ، الهيئة الدولية الرائدة في أخلاقيات الوساطة ، للحفاظ على مدونة قواعد السلوك المهني IMI محدثة بالكامل بما يتماشى مع أعلى معايير الممارسة الدولية ، وكذلك الإجراءات التأديبية .

جزء إلزامي آخر من الملف الشخصي هو إقرار الوسيط بمدونة قواعد السلوك التي ينسب إليها ، وآلية الشكوى التي سيتم تطبيقها. اختار العديد من الوسطاء المعتمدين من IMI مدونة قواعد السلوك المهني IMI وعملية تقييم السلوك المهني IMI (والتي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى فقدان شهادة IMI وعقوبات أخرى وتدار من قبل ISC). يعد ضمان السلوك الأخلاقي عنصرًا مهمًا في توليد ثقة المستخدم في الوسطاء وعملية الوساطة.

كتطوير لشهادة IMI للوسطاء ، أنشأ المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق فريق عمل للجنة المعايير المستقلة في أبريل 2010 لتطوير معايير تدريب الوسطاء بين الثقافات وشهادة مخصصة للمعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق. في مبادرة ممولة جزئياً من مؤسسة GE ، طور فريق العمل معايير موجزة ومرنة تمكن الوسطاء المعتمدين من المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق من توسيع مهاراتهم وخبراتهم بين الثقافات. كما هو الحال مع شهادة IMI للوسطاء ، يمكن تنفيذ الشهادة بين الثقافات في جميع أنحاء العالم من خلال QAPs. تشمل المعايير مجالات التركيز الثقافية (CFAs) التي تنطبق على التوسط في النزاعات بين الثقافات ، بما في ذلك أنماط الاتصال ، ونماذج التنوع الثقافي ، ومواقف وعقليات الصراع ، واختلافات العمليات ، والتوجهات نحو تبادل المعلومات والوقت ، ومناهج صنع القرار لجميع المجموعات الثقافية الرئيسية .

في عام 2012 ، اجتمعت فرقة عمل من لجنة المعايير المستقلة لتطوير معايير الكفاءة للمحامين وممثلي الأحزاب الآخرين لتحقيق الاعتراف بهم كمدافعين معتمدين للوساطة من المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق. يُعترف بكفاءة دعاة الأطراف في الوساطة على نطاق واسع كعامل حاسم في تأمين أفضل التسويات الممكنة. لإنشاء أساس مهني وتقني لتمكين الأطراف من تحديد الأشخاص المناسبين لتقديم المشورة لهم وتمثيلهم في الوساطة ، تم تطوير مجموعة شاملة من معايير الكفاءة لمؤيدي الوساطة / المستشارين من قبل فرقة العمل بدعم وتأييد مجموعة من أصحاب المصلحة ، بما في ذلك لجنة الوساطة التابعة لرابطة المحامين الدولية ، والمؤتمر الدائم لمناصري الوساطة (SCMA) ، ونقابة المحامين في باريس ، ومؤسسة ACB ، و Herbert Smith Freehills LLP. تم تمويل هذه المبادرة جزئيًا من قبل مؤسسة جنرال إلكتريك.

يمكن الآن للمنظمات المهنية ومقدمي الخدمات البديلة لتسوية المنازعات تقديم طلباتهم إلى مركز الدراسات الدولي للموافقة عليها لتأهيل المهنيين المؤهلين للحصول على شهادة مناصرة الوساطة IMI.

تزيد مهارات مناصرة الوساطة من فهم المستخدم لكيفية عمل الوساطة ولماذا ومتى تكون الوساطة هي الطريق الأكثر احتمالية للوصول إلى النتيجة المرجوة. هذا يجعل المستخدمين أكثر استعدادًا للمشاركة في الوساطة ، ويقترحونها بنشاط عندما يكون ذلك مناسبًا.

بحلول يناير 2014 ، أصبح 404 وسطاء من 28 دولة يمارسون التدريب في 28 مجالًا للنزاع ويتحدثون 28 لغة معتمدين من المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق. كان التوازن بين الجنسين 35٪ نساء و 65٪ رجال. على الرغم من أن هذه المجموعة تعد إلى حد بعيد المجموعة الأكثر تنوعًا دوليًا وثقافيًا للوسطاء ذوي الخبرة بشفافية في أي مكان ، إلا أنه لا يزال يتعين إحراز الكثير من التقدم في مجال التوازن بين الجنسين وأيضًا إنشاء المزيد من الوسطاء المعتمدين من المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق في آسيا وإفريقيا وأمريكا اللاتينية وروسيا والدول المنتسبة الشرق الأوسط. إن سعي IMI لزيادة عدد البرامج QAPs والمحاور سيؤدي تدريجياً إلى تحسين التنوع في جميع هذه النواحي.

شاهد المزيد:

Quality and Credentialling

When IMI was established in 2007, there were no internationally-applicable quality standards for mediators, and no international credentialing scheme. The NADRAC in Australia was considering practice and approval standards at a basic post-training level, and CEDR, a UK-based mediation service provider, was accrediting mediators on the same post-training basis. However, only the NMI, a non-profit, non-service-provider body in the Netherlands, subsidized by the Netherlands Government, was certifying competency of experienced mediators locally at a high, experienced-based level.

The IMI Board believed that for users to have confidence in mediators, and therefore to use mediation more frequently and with better results, it was necessary to credential mediators to a high, experience-based standard. The results in the Netherlands proved the wisdom of this strategy. In 2011, there were an estimated (1) 52,000 civil and commercial mediations in the Netherlands, a country with a population of 17 million and with a single high-level mediator certification scheme operated by a non-provider entity. By contrast, in the UK, a country with a population of 63 million where mediation is considered successful, but with no national certification scheme, there were only an estimated (2) 8,000 mediations in 2012. On a per capita basis, the frequency of mediation in the Netherlands in 2011 was therefore about 24 times greater than in the UK. Users in the Netherlands seemingly have a far greater confidence in the quality of mediators, and respect for mediation as a method for resolving disputes, than do those in the UK.

IMI considered adopting on an international level the credentialing process applied by the NMI in the Netherlands. It was based on a third party assessment conducted pursuant to ISO Standard 17,024 (certification of competency of individuals) but was considered bureaucratic, inflexible, difficult to adapt culturally and jurisdictionally, costly and slow. Moreover, the assessment criteria used was proprietary, and the copyright owner was unwilling to allow it to be adapted or shared with others without his consent.

Consequently, IMI did not adopt the NMI scheme (which NMI has itself since abandoned) and developed its own high-level competency certification process, with help from members of the IMI Independent Standards Commission. In particular, published research by Christopher Honeyman on performance based criteria and assessment of mediators, as well as developing standards in Canada, Australia and Argentina, were also available to the IMI ISC for the modelling of its credentialing scheme.

The Certification Scheme devised by IMI can be implemented only by organisations that have been approved by the Independent Standards Commission based on applications made to the ISC to apply a set of stated criteria(3). Once approved, these organisations are known as Qualifying Assessment Programs (QAPs), and are authorised to qualify mediators for IMI Certification. The advantages of this scheme are that:

  • IMI does not itself qualify mediators – this is done by those with QAPs.
  • No two QAPs are likely to be exactly the same, allowing for local adaptation.
  • All QAPs must qualify to the same high competency standards set by the ISC.
  • QAPs can offer their own credentialing to coincide with IMI Certification, thereby raising local standards.

IMI exercises control over the QAPs by requiring mediators qualified by a QAP to complete an IMI Certified Mediator Profile in a pre-determined format, and that mediators cannot call themselves IMI Certified until their Profile has been approved by IMI and posted on the IMI web portal. IMI also conducts periodic audits of QAPs to ensure they are correctly implementing the IMI Criteria. There are so far 39 QAPs in 22 countries, and over 480 IMI Certified Mediators on the IMI search engine in 47 countries, including 7 sub – Saharan countries, 4 South American countries and 6 in the Middle East.

Feedback

An obligatory part of every IMI Certified Mediator Profile is a Feedback Digest, an independently-prepared summary of user feedback collected by the Mediator using the IMI Feedback Request Form or a similar form. Once completed by users this feedback is anonymized and turned into a summary by an independent Reviewer selected by the mediator. The identity of the Reviewer must be disclosed on the Profile, and as a result the credibility of the Feedback Digest has much to do with that of the Reviewer. Only the Reviewer can upload the Feedback Digest onto the mediator’s Profile and amend it afterwards. In compiling the Feedback Digest, the Reviewer must follow Guidelines published by IMI. Once the Profile is complete and verified by IMI, it is posted onto the IMI Search Engine and the mediator is IMI Certified.

Feedback is exceptionally useful to users, not only providing reassurance of experience and competency, but also providing reliable insight into the mediator’s suitability to the conflict. Very few mediators make prior user feedback transparent, but it is considered essential information by most users for reliable mediator selection purposes.

The Independent Standards Commission has convened an Ethics Committee, chaired by Professor Ellen Waldman, the leading international authority on mediation ethics, to keep the IMI code of Professional Conduct fully updated in line with the highest standards of international practice, as well as the disciplinary process.

Another obligatory part of the Profile is a declaration by the mediator of which Code of Conduct she or he ascribes to, and the complaint mechanism that would apply. Many IMI Certified Mediators have chosen the IMI Code of Professional Conduct and the IMI Professional Conduct Assessment Process (which can result in loss of IMI Certification and other sanctions and is administered by the ISC). Assurance of ethical conduct is an important element in generating user confidence in mediators and the mediation process.

As a development of IMI Certification for mediators, IMI set up a Task Force of the Independent Standards Commission in April 2010 to develop criteria for inter-cultural mediator training and a dedicated IMI Certification. In an initiative partly funded by the GE Foundation, the Task Force developed succinct and flexible criteria that enable IMI Certified mediators to extend their skills and experience inter-culturally. As with IMI Certification of mediators, the Inter-Cultural Certification can be implemented worldwide by QAPs. The criteria include Cultural Focus Areas (CFAs) applicable to mediating inter-cultural conflicts, including communication styles, cultural diversity paradigms, conflict attitudes and mindsets, process differences, orientations towards information exchange and time, and decision-making approaches for all main cultural groups.

In 2012, a Task Force of the Independent Standards Commission was convened to develop competency criteria for lawyers and other party representatives to achieve recognition as IMI Certified Mediation Advocates. The competency of the parties’ advocates in mediations is widely recognized as a crucial factor in securing the best possible settlements. To establish a professional and technical basis for enabling parties to identify the right people to advise and represent them in mediations, a comprehensive set of Competency Criteria of Mediation Advocates/Advisers was developed by the Task Force with the support and endorsement of a range of stakeholders, including the Mediation Committee of the International Bar Association, the Standing Conference of Mediation Advocates (SCMA), the Paris Bar, ACB Foundation and Herbert Smith Freehills LLP. This initiative was part-funded by the GE Foundation.

ADR professional and provider organisations may now submit to the ISC their applications to be approved for qualifying competent professionals for IMI Mediation Advocacy Certification.

Mediation advocacy skills increase user understanding of how and why mediation works and when mediation is the most likely route to a desired outcome. This makes users more willing to participate in mediation, and actively to propose it when appropriate.

By January 2014 , 404 mediators from 28 countries practicing in 28 conflict fields and speaking 28 languages had become IMI Certified. The gender balance was 35 % women and 65 % men. Although this is by far the most internationally and culturally diverse group of transparently experienced mediators anywhere, much progress has yet to be made on the gender balance and also generating more IMI Certified Mediators in Asia, Africa, Latin America, Russia and affiliated countries and the Middle East. The quest of IMI to increase the number of QAPs and Hubs will progressively improve diversity in all these respects.

See more: