البحث البيانات

هناك نقص خطير في البيانات الموثوقة حول استخدام الوساطة ، سواء على المستوى الوطني في معظم البلدان أو على المستوى الدولي.

البيانات الموثوقة الأكثر إفادة والمتاحة للجمهور في السنوات الأخيرة هي:

  • دراسة 2003/06 من قبل جمعية التحكيم الأمريكية لـ 254 شركة أمريكية ، استكملت في 2012/13 بدراسة مماثلة في فرنسا بالاشتراك مع FIDAL. 
  • دراسة استقصائية أجريت في 1997/98 بقيادة جامعة كورنيل للمستشار الداخلي لـ 606 شركة من شركات Fortune 1,000،2011 ، تم تحديثه بواسطة دراسة استقصائية أجريت عام 368 على XNUMX مستشارًا داخليًا في الولايات المتحدة بقيادة معهد شتراوس لتسوية المنازعات بجامعة Pepperdine ومعهد Scheinman التابع لجامعة كورنيل حل النزاعات.

أظهرت هذه الدراسات بشكل مقنع تمامًا أنه ، على الأقل في الولايات المتحدة ، كانت هناك شهية متزايدة للوساطة بين مستشاري الشركات ، مع الشركات الأكثر خبرة في الوساطة (تلك التي تم وصفها في استطلاع AAA بأنها "الأكثر حكمة في النزاع") تشارك بنشاط برامج تجنب الخلاف وتحقق معدلات أعلى للسعر والأرباح من الشركات غير الحكيمة.

أشار استطلاع عام 2011 الذي أجرته Pepperdine / Cornell إلى أن العديد من الشركات الأمريكية الكبيرة تستخدم التحكيم الملزم في كثير من الأحيان وبدلاً من ذلك تعتمد بشكل أكبر على التفاوض عبر الوساطة والأساليب الأخرى التي تهدف إلى حل النزاعات بشكل غير رسمي وسريع وغير مكلف. أشار البروفيسور Pepperdine Thomas J. Stipanowich إلى ظهور "ثورة هادئة" في حل النزاعات الأمريكية حيث يلعب مستشار الشركات ، مدفوعًا باستراتيجيات تقليل التكلفة والمخاطر ، دورًا توجيهيًا متزايدًا حول كيفية إدارة النزاعات وحلها. كان الموضوع المشترك من نتائج المسح هو الرغبة في السيطرة المثلى على عملية تسوية المنازعات ، مع تفضيل المستشار الداخلي لإدارة النتائج ، لذلك يفضل بشدة الوساطة والأساليب الأخرى التي تهدف إلى تحقيق تسوية مقبولة للطرفين. 

ومع ذلك ، لم يعط أي من هذه الاستطلاعات انطباعات دولية حقيقية ، ولم يطرح أي منهما عددًا من الأسئلة الرئيسية التي من شأنها تحديد ودعم الرؤية والرسالة التي اعتمدها المعهد الدولي لإدارة الفنادق. وفقًا لذلك ، في يناير 2013 ، أرسل المعهد الدولي لإدارة الهجرة استبيانًا إلى مستشار تسوية المنازعات الداخلي في 124 شركة متعددة الجنسيات ، مقرها بشكل أساسي في أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية ، مصممة لإبراز مواقف المستخدمين وأساليبهم في التحكيم والوساطة. تم إجراء المسح من منتصف يناير إلى منتصف مارس 2013. ويبدو أن هذه كانت المرة الأولى التي يُطلب فيها من محامي حل النزاعات الداخلي تقديم آرائهم حول العديد من القضايا المثارة على نطاق دولي. أكمل ستة وسبعون محامي حل النزاعات الداخلي المسح.

تناول مسح IMI القضايا التي لم يتم تناولها في استبيانات المستخدمين السابقة. ركز مسح IMI بشكل أكبر على احتياجات المستشارين الداخليين والمواقف والتفضيلات فيما يتعلق بالمسائل المتعلقة بالمعلومات ومعايير الجودة المهنية والمهارات التي يتوقعونها من المحكمين والوسطاء والمستشارين الخارجيين.  

كان معظم المستجيبين إما مستشارين قانونيين داخليين رفيعي المستوى (63٪) أو أعضاء في الإدارة العليا (20٪) في شركاتهم ، مع 17٪ أشاروا إلى أنهم كانوا منخرطين في أدوار مؤسسية أخرى. 71٪ من المستجيبين كانوا من الشركات التي لديها أكثر من 10,000،18 موظف ، و 1,000٪ يعملون في شركات يتراوح عدد موظفيها بين 10,000،XNUMX و XNUMX،XNUMX موظف.

اعتمد مسح IMI ، مثل معظم الاستطلاعات الأخرى ، على إجابات متعددة الاختيارات لمجموعة من المقترحات ، بشكل أساسي لتمكين إكمال الاستبيان بسرعة نسبية. أشارت العديد من الأسئلة بشكل جماعي إلى "المحايدين" والتي عرّفتها مقدمة الاستطلاع على أنها تعني المحكمين والوسطاء.

النتائج البارزة

يجب أن ينتمي جميع الوسطاء إلى هيئة مهنية ذات قواعد سلوك وإجراءات تأديبية76%
يجب على الوسطاء السعي للحصول على تعليقات من المستخدمين ، وإتاحة هذه التعليقات بشكل مفتوح للمستخدمين في المستقبل77%
يجب تدريب المستشارين الخارجيين على مهارات الدعوة للوساطة80%

مستشار الشركة "أعلى 6 معايير" عند تعيين أحد وسائل الإعلام

الخبرة كوسيط99%
تجربة المستخدم السابقة مع وسيط معين97%
شخصية الوسيط وموقفه93%
ملاحظات تم التحقق منها بشكل مستقل من المستخدمين88%
الخبرة في القضية الأساسية للقضية85%
تم تقييم الدليل على كفاءة الوسيط بشكل مستقل83%

يجب على جميع المحايدين السعي للحصول على تعليقات من المستخدمين وإتاحة هذه التعليقات بشكل مفتوح للمستخدمين المستقبليين (في تنسيق ملخص ، أعده شخص أو مؤسسة مستقلة مع الحفاظ على anonymity من مقدم التغذية الراجعة).

77%
توافق
15%
متعدد
8%
تعارض

تشير هذه النتائج بقوة إلى أن مهمة IMI تعكس احتياجات مستخدم الشركة ، وبالتالي ، احتياجات المتنازعين الآخرين.

Research Data

There is a serious deficiency of reliable data on the use of mediation, both nationally in most countries, and internationally.

The most instructive reliable data publicly available in recent years are:

  • A 2003/06 study by the American Arbitration Association of 254 US companies, supplemented in 2012/13 by a similar study in France in association with FIDAL. 
  • A 1997/98 survey led by Cornell University of the in-house counsel of 606 Fortune 1,000 companies, updated by a 2011 survey of 368 US-based in-house counsel led by Pepperdine University’s Straus Institute for Dispute Resolution and Cornell University’s Scheinman Institute on Conflict Resolution.

These studies demonstrated quite convincingly that, at least in the US, there was a growing appetite for mediation among corporate counsel, with the more mediation-experienced companies (those described in the AAA survey as the most “Dispute-Wise”) actively engaged is dispute avoidance programs and experiencing higher price-earnings ratios than non-Dispute-Wise companies.

The 2011 survey by Pepperdine/Cornell indicated that many large US companies are using binding arbitration less often and instead relying more on mediated negotiation and other approaches aimed at resolving disputes informally, quickly and inexpensively. Pepperdine Professor Thomas J. Stipanowich noted the emergence of a “quiet revolution” in US dispute resolution in which corporate counsel, driven by cost and risk reduction strategies, are playing an increasingly directive role on how disputes are managed and resolved. A common theme from the survey results was a desire for optimal control of the dispute resolution process, with in-house counsel preferring to manage outcomes, so mediation and other approaches that aim at achieving a mutually acceptable settlement are strongly favoured. 

However, neither of these surveys gave truly international impressions, and neither asked a number of key questions that would determine and underpin the the Vision and Mission that IMI had adopted. Accordingly, in January 2013, IMI sent out a survey to in-house dispute resolution counsel in 124 multinational corporations, based mainly in Europe and North America, designed to surface user attitudes and approaches to arbitration and mediation. The Survey ran from mid-January to mid-March 2013. This seems to have been the first time that in-house dispute resolution counsel had been asked for their views on many of the issues raised at an international scale. Seventy-six in-house dispute resolution counsel completed the Survey.

The IMI Survey addressed issues not covered in the previous user surveys. The IMI Survey focused more on in-house counsel needs, attitudes and preferences regarding issues concerning information, professional quality standards and the skills they expect from their arbitrators, mediators and outside counsel.  

Most responders were either senior in-house legal counsel (63%) or members of senior management (20%) in their companies, with 17% indicating they were engaged in other corporate roles. 71% of responders were from corporations with over 10,000 employees, and 18% were employed by companies having between 1,000 and 10,000 employees.

The IMI Survey, like most other surveys, was based on multi-choice answers to a range of propositions, principally to enable the Survey to be completed relatively quickly.  Many of the questions referred collectively to “Neutrals” which the Survey’s preamble defined as meaning both arbitrators and mediators.

Result highlights

All mediators should belong to a professional body with a code of conduct and disciplinary process76%
Mediators should seek feedback from users, and make that feedback openly available to future users77%
Outside counsel should be trained in mediation advocacy skills80%

Corporate counsel ‘Top 6 Criteria’ when appointing a media

Experience as a mediator99%
Past user experience with a particular mediator97%
Mediator's personality and attitude93%
Independently-verified feedback from users88%
Expertise in the core issue of the case85%
Evidence the mediator's competence was independently assessed83%

All Neutrals should seek feedback from users and make that feedback openly available to future users (in summary format, prepared by an independent person or institution while preserving the anonymity of the feedback giver).

77%
Agree
15%
Neutral
8%
Disagree

These results strongly indicate that IMI’s Mission reflects corporate user needs and, by extension, the needs of other disputants.