متاح الآن لجميع الوسطاء والدعاة: سجل وساطة IMI ومركز الملاحظات! انقر هنا لمعرفة المزيد

إحضار وساطة نيوزيلندا عبر الإنترنت أثناء إيقاف تشغيل COVID-19

معهد الوساطة الدولية < منتديات < عام < نيوزيلاندا < إحضار وساطة نيوزيلندا عبر الإنترنت أثناء إيقاف تشغيل COVID-19

عرض 4 رد المواضيع
  • المستخدم / كاتب التعليق
    المشاركات
    • #48555

      هذا موضوع جديد بالنسبة لنا لمناقشة أفضل السبل لمواصلة الوساطة في نيوزيلندا أثناء إغلاق COVID-19.

    • #48568

      اهلا بالجميع،

      أنا من كودر (https://codr.co.nz/) ونحن نعمل في مجال حل النزاعات عبر الإنترنت (في نيوزيلندا) منذ بضع سنوات حتى الآن (أسسها Michael Heron QC). إذا كانت لديك أي أسئلة حول كيفية عملها ، أو بشكل عام ، فسأكون سعيدًا بالإجابة.

      لقد تفرّعنا للتو في خدمة توقيع المستندات عبر الإنترنت ، لذلك إذا كنت بحاجة إلى شيء موقّع بشكل عاجل (مثل إفادة خطية) ، فأخبرنا بذلك.

      شكر،
      بن

    • #48572

      مرحباً بالجميع - إيان ماكدوف هنا في أوكلاند ، نيوزيلندا. تم إعداد هذا المنشور في البداية لمنتدى منذ أسبوع أو نحو ذلك ، حول التحكيم والوساطة عبر الإنترنت. لقد طُلب مني النشر عن "أفضل الممارسات في الوساطة عبر الإنترنت" ، ومن هنا جاءت فقرتي الافتتاحية:

      هدفي في هذا المنشور الافتتاحي هو ببساطة إثارة بعض الملاحظات حول الممارسة المتنامية للوساطة عبر الإنترنت ، للتعليق على السياقات المختلفة التي قد نقوم فيها بذلك - بدلاً من تقديم وصفات لـ "أفضل الممارسات" - لاقتراح المبادئ التوجيهية. إن السبب الذي دفعني لتجنُّب وصفات "أفضل الممارسات" بسيط نسبيًا: فقد يُنظر إلى الوساطة هذه الأيام على أنها تتمتع بسمات مألوفة عبر البلدان والولايات القضائية ، ولكن اثنين من المثل العليا التأسيسية للممارسة الناشئة منذ حوالي 40 عامًا كانتا المرونة في التصميم و استقلالية الأطراف. أذكر أيضًا ، ربما قبل 15 عامًا ، أنني عملت جنبًا إلى جنب مع مجموعة مشهورة جدًا من المدربين الذين افتتحوا ورشة عمل التفاوض الخاصة بهم بالقول للمشاركين المجتمعين (في بلد وثقافة مختلفة تمامًا عن ثقافة المدربين) أن خطتهم كانت التدريس "أفضل الممارسات العالمية". لم يتعاف المدربون تمامًا من التصور السائد بين المشاركين بأن هذا كان شكلاً من أشكال الفرض الثقافي وافتراض ضمني أن المتدربين كانوا "مواد خام" بدون ثقافة تفاوضية.

      لذلك ، مع وضع هذا التحذير في الاعتبار. . .

      من خلال الملاحظة الأولية حول مسار هذا المجال من الوساطة عبر الإنترنت ، لاحظت أنني كتبت ما يبدو الآن وكأنه مقال ساذج للغاية حول تجربة مبكرة في الوساطة عبر الإنترنت ، في وقت لم يكن للممارسة اسم أو اختصار - وبالنسبة لمن هم أكبر سنًا منكم ليتذكروا - كان الاتصال بهذه الظاهرة الجديدة ، الإنترنت ، عبر المودم. تمت الوساطة على مدى بضعة أيام ، في عام 1992 ، كل ذلك عبر البريد الإلكتروني ، وكلها بطيئة بشكل مؤلم ، ولم تكن في وضع يسمح لها بجمع الأطراف معًا في مكان [افتراضي] واحد لإجراء محادثة. كان الطرفان ، على التوالي ، على الساحل الشرقي والغربي للولايات المتحدة ، وفي غرب كندا - وكنت في نيوزيلندا. تم نشر المقال في عام 1994. كان هذا قبل فتح الإنترنت للتجارة. كان الكثير من الاتصالات عبر الإنترنت - كما في هذه الحالة - في غرف الدردشة عبر الإنترنت. التفاصيل غير مهمة هنا - يمكنك ، إذا أردت ، قراءة المزيد هنا: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1111/j.1571-9979.1994.tb00002.x or https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/Flames-on-the-wires%3A-Mediating-from-an-electronic-Macduff/485e58e4529db5bf8570b7f6bf97dfcf3c830ca0.

      مسائل السياق: أعتقد أنه يمكننا رؤية خمسة إعدادات تطورت فيها الوساطة عبر الإنترنت ، كاستجابة للاحتياجات والضرورات المختلفة -

      • أولاً ، الردود المبكرة على "الملتهب" عبر الإنترنت في غرف الدردشة (كما ورد في مقالتي ، وبالطبع العديد من الأماكن الأخرى): كما لاحظ إيثان كاتش عدة مرات ، وجدنا سريعًا أن الإنترنت لم يكن دائمًا مكانًا هادئًا ، بينما ربما كانت هناك - وربما لا تزال - آمال في أن نتمكن من تعزيز الاتصال والتواصل المحسنين ، فهناك أيضًا حاجة لإيجاد أدوات للتعامل مع المسافة ، في الحالymity ، العداء والعقل الدموي المطلق. . . وتلك الأدوات لابد من ابتكارها لتلائم الإعداد. كما علق رائد آخر في ADR - البروفيسور فرانك ساندر - ، فإن فضيلة الوساطة (وأدوات تسوية المنازعات الأخرى) كانت في القدرة على الذهاب إلى حيث كان المتنازعون - على الرغم من أنني أشك في أنه توقع أن يتضمن ذلك أدوات رقمية. لذا ، فإن الإعداد الأول لتطوير ممارسات ومبادئ الوساطة عبر الإنترنت هو ببساطة (؟) الواقع المزدهر للتواصل عبر الإنترنت ، حيث يمكن أن تسوء الأمور.
      • ثانياً ، مع وصول التجارة على الإنترنت منذ حوالي عام 1995 (وهو الأمر الذي يأسف عليه بعض مؤسسي الإنترنت الآن) كان من الطبيعي أن تكون هناك حاجة لتطوير أدوات للرد على الخلافات التي لا مفر منها حول التسليم والدفع والجودة ؛ والحاجة إلى الرد على عدم قدرة المحاكم الوطنية ، في بعض الأحيان ، على التعامل مع قضايا الاختصاص القضائي والقانون المطبق والإنفاذ.
      • ثالثًا ، الأدوات الناشئة للاتصال عبر الإنترنت والانتشار التدريجي للبنية التحتية الضرورية - إن لم يكن متكافئًا - يوفر وعدًا بالمشاركة في العمليات القانونية وعمليات التسوية لأولئك الذين تم تحدي مشاركتهم في العمليات المنتظمة لتسوية المنازعات وتسويتها من خلال المسافة المادية أو البُعد - والتي قد يكون أيضًا مصحوبًا بقيود الوصول إلى الموارد. فكر في المسافات التي قد تحتاج أطراف التقاضي أو التحكيم أو الوساطة إلى تغطيتها ، على سبيل المثال ، في كندا أو أستراليا أو عبر الجزر المتناثرة في دول المحيط الهادئ.
      • رابعًا ، غالبًا ما يتم الفصل بين الأطراف بسبب المخاطر والصراع وبسبب إما عدم القدرة أو عدم الرغبة في الاجتماع في نفس المكان ؛ كما أنهم قد يكونون مقيدين بالتصورات السائدة بين شعوبهم بأنه لا يمكن رؤيتهم على أنهم يتعاملون مباشرة مع "العدو". تتمثل إحدى الوعود الهائلة للموارد والتواصل عبر الإنترنت في القدرة التي قد توفرها هذه الأدوات للسماح بالاتصال - والوساطة - عن بُعد.
      • الخامس - وأضيف مؤخرًا إلى قائمتي الصغيرة! - قد تنفصل الأطراف بسبب مخاطر العدوى الفيروسية و / أو المراسيم الحكومية التي لا يجازفون بتقديمها ، وفوق كل ذلك ، عدم الانخراط وجهاً لوجه مع الآخرين. أكثر من أي وقت مضى ، يتعين على الوسطاء - والمحكمين - الآن الاستفادة من فضيلة الضرورة وإيجاد طرق لمواصلة عملهم عبر الإنترنت. في نيوزيلندا ، قد يصبح هذا الأمر أكثر إلحاحًا حيث تبدأ المحاكم في الإغلاق أمام الأعمال التجارية والأطراف - في أي مجال من مجالات النزاعات - قد يتحولون إلى أشكال غير قضائية للتسوية. (من الناحية الأبوية ، يجب أن أشير إلى أن هذا الوباء قد فاجأ نظامنا القضائي ونرى تكلفة عدم إحراز تقدم في الاستراتيجيات الرقمية للمحاكم).

      لذا ، فإن نقطتي الأولى بشأن تطوير أفضل الممارسات هي أن السياق مهم وأن تصميم عملية الوساطة الخاصة بك سيكون ملزمًا بمراعاة ظروف الأطراف ، ليس فقط من حيث جوهر النزاع ولكن أيضًا ما يغذي وتشكل تصوراتهم للنزاع (وفي الواقع للوساطة: كما يعرف الكثير منكم ، كيف أن الأطراف في مختلف الثقافات والسلطات القضائية تنظر إلى "الوساطة" سوف تختلف بشكل كبير). فيما يتعلق بنقطة التصميم ، انظر من بين أمور أخرى Orna Rabinovich-Einy & Ethan Katsh ، "التكنولوجيا ومستقبل تصميم أنظمة النزاع"

      مستويات المشاركة الرقمية: كيف تستخدم التقنيات الرقمية؟ هنا مرة أخرى ، سيتم تشكيل "أفضل الممارسات" من خلال ما لديك - الوسيط والأطراف - ؛ ما هو مستوى الراحة والألفة لديك ، وما هو مستوى البساطة أو الرقي الذي قد يكون مناسبًا. هكذا:

      • تكميلي: استخدام الموارد الرقمية كمساعدة للممارسة المنتظمة - لتخزين الملفات ، وتدوين الملاحظات ، والتواصل وما إلى ذلك ، دون التفكير في أنفسهم كمبدعين رقميين ، سيستخدم العديد من الممارسين بالطبع الهواتف والأجهزة اللوحية وتخزين المستندات عبر الإنترنت وإدارة التقويم وما إلى ذلك. على.
      • تقليد: استخدام الموارد الرقمية لترحيل الممارسة العادية إلى الإنترنت - لا شيء يتغير كثيرًا في الطريقة التي تمارس بها ولكن يمكنك ، على سبيل المثال ، استخدام أدوات الفيديو مثل Skype و Zoom و WhatsApp والمرافق المضمنة في جهازك أو حاسوب محمول. في أبسط صوره ، هذا تمرين في القيام بعملك بنفس الطريقة ولكن على مسافة ؛ لكن مخاطر الاستخدام المقلد للموارد الرقمية تتمثل في عدم إيلاء اهتمام يذكر لما قد يحتاج إلى تغيير عن طريق المشاركة والتواصل ، ولا لأنواع الأسئلة التي أثيرت في المحادثات السابقة حول الأمان ومشاركة المستندات والخصوصية وما إلى ذلك. يجب أن يشتمل الانتقال عبر الإنترنت في ممارسة الوساطة عادةً على مزيد من الاهتمام أكثر من - على سبيل المثال - محادثة Skype مع العائلة ، حيث سيكون هناك حديث متبادل ، وتمرير حيوانات أليفة ، وارتباك حول مكان وجود الكاميرا على جهاز iPad ، وصور رديئة بما أن الأسرة مضاءة من الخلف مقابل نافذة مفتوحة.
      • تحويلية: المرحلة التي نحن فيها الآن هي العمل على الطرق التي لا تكمل بها الموارد الرقمية الطرق التي نعمل بها بشكل جذري فحسب ، بل وتحولها أيضًا بشكل جذري - وهذا هو المكان الذي تظهر فيه مشكلة التصميم المشار إليها سابقًا. أسهب في الحديث عن ذلك في هذه المرحلة بخلاف الإشارة إلى أن التاريخ الحديث لممارسة التفاوض والوساطة قد ترافق ، منذ مرحلة مبكرة جدًا ، مع الاعتراف بأن هذه فرصة "لتلائم المنتدى مع الضجة (تعبير فرانك ساندر آخر ).

      الأساسية : سأذكر هنا ، ربما لمزيد من المناقشة ، بعض المبادئ التي قد تشكل "أفضل الممارسات":

      • الشمول: ضمان الشمول الرقمي من أجل ضمان شمول الاتصالات (مع ملاحظة أن الشاغل الحالي ، بصرف النظر تمامًا عن حل النزاعات ، هو مستوى الاستبعاد الرقمي في أي ولاية قضائية ، ليس فقط كمسألة بنية تحتية وعرض النطاق الترددي ولكن أيضًا اللغة ومحو الأمية الرقمية '- بشكل أكبر مع انتقال الخدمات الحكومية عبر الإنترنت مما يزيد من الحاجة إلى الوصول ، وغالبًا ما يكون لدى هؤلاء السكان الأقل احتمالًا للوصول)
      • الثقة - في قدرة الفرد على استخدام التكنولوجيا وكذلك في الوسيط ونزاهة جميع الأطراف
      • السرية - الاتصالات والوثائق المشتركة والملفات (بما في ذلك الفيديو) التي يمكن نسخها وتخزينها (تم طرح هذا في وقت سابق في مناقشة بول) ؛
        ضع في اعتبارك احتمال أن الأطراف قد لا يكون لديهم أجهزة الكمبيوتر / الأجهزة الخاصة بهم وقد تحتاج إلى استخدام مرافق الأصدقاء أو المرافق العامة
      • ضع في اعتبارك أيضًا أنه في بعض البيئات الثقافية ، قد تتوقع الأطراف وتحتاج إلى وجود دائرة أوسع من الدعم / الأسرة - ليس بالضرورة كمشاركين مباشرين ولكن كدعم
      • الشفافية - يضيف الوصول الرقمي طبقة من القلق ، تتجاوز الحاجة العادية لتوفير الشفافية حول كيفية عمل عملية الوساطة ، خاصة إذا شعرت الأطراف بأنها أقل سيطرة على العناصر التقنية للعملية
      • الثقة - ما هي "آليات الثقة" الإضافية التي يجب وضعها ، بالإضافة إلى تلك المستخدمة تقليديًا لضمان الثقة في العملية والأشخاص؟ في ظل غياب بعض إشارات الثقة المعتادة ، ما هي الإجراءات الإضافية التي يجب تنفيذها؟

      ضمان إعداد التكنولوجيا

      • التوافق التقني (من غير المرجح أن يكون مشكلة حيث أن الأجهزة تتواصل في الغالب بسهولة عبر الأنظمة الأساسية ، ولكنها مهمة لمهام مثل تحرير المستندات وترميزها ؛ وبالتالي اختر نظامًا أساسيًا لإنشاء المستندات مثل Word أو Pages) والتمسك به
        إبقاء التكنولوجيا بسيطة قدر الإمكان للمشاركين ؛ كامل الميزات حسب الضرورة للمهمة
      • إنشاء منصات مشتركة (على سبيل المثال ، في حالة مشاركة المستندات)
      • التعرف على منصات البرامج والتعرف عليها (Skype ، Zoom ، WhatsApp...) ؛ إذا لزم الأمر ، قدم المساعدة قبل الوساطة والممارسة مع أي منصة سيتم استخدامها

      متطلبات تكنولوجيا المعلومات؟
      - التشفير
      - تبادل آمن للوثائق
      - وثيقة واحدة ، تسهيلات متعددة المؤلفين
      - مستودع الملفات
      - فيديو

      خيارات وقضايا إضافية
      - اتصال متزامن أو غير متزامن ؛
      - إدارة المنطقة الزمنية
      - إدارة "ترتيب الكلام". . . أخذ مهارات الوسيط عبر الإنترنت!
      - التأكد من أن الأطراف غير المشاركة حاليًا في أي محادثة غير متصلة بالإنترنت وأن الاتصال سري

      سؤال أكبر - كيف يمكن أن يغير هذا ، أو يساهم في تغيير ، أنماط الخطاب المدني والعام؟
      بينما تعزز تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات البث المحدود ، وترجمة المواطنين إلى مستهلكين تكون الأولوية للاختيار والاستقلالية وثقافة تقنية جديدة ، يمكن رؤية تلك التكنولوجيا نفسها واستخدامها من حيث قدرتها على تعزيز المشاركة والمواطنة والحوارات المدنية:

      "باختصار ، توفر مساحة الوسائط التفاعلية طريقة جديدة لفهم الحضارة نفسها ، ومجموعة جديدة من الأسباب الجيدة للانخراط في الواقع المدني بشكل كامل في مواجهة ما يُنظر إليه غالبًا (أو يُدرس) على أنه العديد من المخاطر والتنازلات المرتبطة بسلوك تعاوني ". [دوغلاس روشكوف ، "ديمقراطية المصدر المفتوح: كيف يغير الاتصال عبر الإنترنت السياسة غير المتصلة بالإنترنت" ، http://www.demos.uk، ص. 16.]

    • #48593

      شكرًا نينا على جمعنا معًا. يوجد رابط إلى ندوة الويب الخاصة بمعهد Resolution Institute حول استخدام Zoom هنا:

    • #48719

      شكرًا نينا لإعداد هذا ، IMI للاستضافة ، وكل ذلك للنشر. من الرائع رؤية مثل هذا التعاون في هذه الأوقات الغريبة.

      إليك رابط حلقة نقاش استضافها أمينز حول التوسط (عبر الإنترنت) أثناء الإغلاق:

      وإليكم مقال في ناشيونال جيوغرافيك عن "زوم التعب" ، وهو شيء لا شك فيه أننا نشعر به في بعض الأحيان!

      https://apple.news/AA9wxVyXFQHyrGh0YpTPDhA

      البقاء جيدا.

      علامة

عرض 4 رد المواضيع
  • يجب عليك تسجيل الدخول للرد على هذا الموضوع.

Bringing NZ mediation online during the COVID-19 shutdown

International Mediation Institute Forums General New Zealand Bringing NZ mediation online during the COVID-19 shutdown

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
    Posts
    • #48555
      Nina KhouriNina Khouri
      Participant

      This is a new topic for us to discuss how best to continue mediating in New Zealand during the COVID-19 shutdown.

    • #48568
      Ben MorganBen Morgan
      Participant

      Hi all,

      I am from CODR (https://codr.co.nz/) and we have been operating in the Online Dispute Resolution realm (in NZ) for a few years now (founded by Michael Heron QC). If you have any questions about how it works, or even more generally, I would be happy to answer.

      We have also just branched out into the online document signing service, so if you need something signed urgently (such as an affidavit), let us know.

      Thanks,
      Ben

    • #48572
      Ian MacduffIan Macduff
      Participant

      Hi all – Ian Macduff here in Auckland, NZ. This post was initially prepared for an forum a week or so ago, on online arbitration and mediation. I’d been asked to post on “best practice in online mediation”, hence my opening paragraph:

      My objective in this opening post is simply to raise some observations about the growing practice of mediation online, to comment on the different contexts in which we might do this and – rather than offer prescriptions for “best practice” – to suggest guiding principles. My reason for avoiding “best practice” prescriptions is relatively simple: mediation might well be seen these days to have familiar features across countries and jurisdictions, but two of the founding ideals of the emergent practice some 40 years ago were those of flexibility in design and autonomy of the parties. I also recall, perhaps 15 years ago, working alongside a very well-known group of trainers who opened their negotiation workshop by saying to the assembled participants (in a country and culture very different from that of the trainers) that their plan was to teach “global best practice”. The trainers never quite recovered from the perception amongst the participants that this was a form of cultural imposition and an implicit assumption that the trainees were “raw material” without a negotiation culture.

      So, with that caveat in mind . . .

      By way of preliminary observation about the trajectory of this field of online mediation, I note that I wrote what now looks like a very naive article on an early experience in online mediation, at a time when the practice didn’t have a name or an acronym and – for those of you old enough to remember – connection to this new phenomenon, the Internet, was via modem. The mediation took place over some days, in 1992, all by email, all painfully slow, and never in a position to bring the parties together in one [virtual] place for a conversation. The parties were, respectively, on the east and west coast of the US, and in western Canada – and I was in New Zealand. The article was published in 1994. This was before the Internet was opened to commerce; so much of the online communication was – as in this case – in online chatrooms. Details are unimportant here – you can, if you like, read more here: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1111/j.1571-9979.1994.tb00002.x or https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/Flames-on-the-wires%3A-Mediating-from-an-electronic-Macduff/485e58e4529db5bf8570b7f6bf97dfcf3c830ca0.

      Context matters: I think we can see five settings in which online mediation has developed, as a response to different needs and imperatives –

      • first, early responses to online “flaming” in chatrooms (as reported in my article and, of course, many other places): as Ethan Katsh has observed several times, we found very quickly that the Internet was not always a peaceful place and, while there might have been – and may still be – hopes that we can foster enhanced connection and communication, there’s also the need to find tools to deal with distance, anonymity, animosity and sheer bloody-mindedness . . . and those tools needed to be invented to match the setting. As another pioneer in ADR – Prof Frank Sander – commented, the virtue of mediation (and other ADR tools) was in being able to go where the disputants were – though I doubt that he anticipated that this would involve digital tools. So, the first setting for the development of online mediation practice and principles is simply (?) that of the burgeoning reality of online communication, in which things can and do go wrong.
      • second, with the arrival of commerce on the Internet from around 1995 (which some of the founders of the Internet now regret) there was naturally a need to develop tools to respond to inevitable disputes over delivery, payment, quality; and a need to respond the the incapacity, at times, of national courts to deal with issues of jurisdiction, applicable law and enforcement.
      • third, the emerging tools of online communication and the gradual – if uneven spread of necessary infrastructure – offered the promise of engagement in legal and resolution processes for those whose participation in regular processes of dispute resolution and settlement were challenged by physical distance or remoteness – which might also be accompanied by constrained access to resources. Think of the distances that parties to litigation, arbitration, or mediation might need to cover in, say, Canada, Australia, or across scattered islands of Pacific nations.
      • fourth, parties are also all too often separated by risk and conflict and by either an inability or unwillingness to meet in the same space; they might also be constrained by perceptions amongst their own people that they cannot be seen to be engaging directly with “the enemy”. One of the huge promises of online resources and communication is in the capacity these tools might offer to allow parties communication – and mediation – at a distance.
      • fifth – and only recently added to my little list! – parties might be separated by risks of viral contagion and/or government edicts that they not venture forth and, above all, not engage face to face with others. More than ever, mediators – and arbitrators – are now having to make a virtue of necessity and find ways of continuing their work online. In New Zealand, this might become even more imperative as the Courts begin to close for business and parties – in whatever field of disputes – might turn to non-judicial forms of settlement. (Parenthetically, I have to note that this pandemic has caught our judicial system by surprise and we see the cost of not having made progress on digital strategies for the courts).

      So, my first point on developing best practice is that context matters and that the design of your mediation process will be bound to take into consideration the circumstances of the parties, not just in terms of what the substance of the dispute is but also what feeds and shapes their perceptions of the dispute (and, indeed, of mediation: as many of you will know, how parties in different cultures and jurisdictions perceive “mediation” will vary considerably). On the design point, see amongst others Orna Rabinovich-Einy & Ethan Katsh, “Technology and the Future of Dispute Systems Design”

      Levels of digital engagement: how are you using digital technologies? Here again, ‘best practice’ will be shaped by what you – the mediator and the parties – have available; what your level of comfort and familiarity might be, and what level of simplicity or sophistication might be appropriate. Thus:

      • Supplementary: the use of digital resources as ancillary to regular practice – for file storage, note taking, communication etc. Without thinking of themselves as digital innovators, many practitioners will of course be using phones, tablets, online document storage, calendar management and so on.
      • Imitative: the use of digital resources to migrate normal practice to online – nothing much changes in the way you practise but you might, for example, use video tools such as Skype, Zoom, WhatsApp, and the built-in facilities of your device or laptop. At its simplest, this is an exercise in carrying on your work in the same way but just at a distance; but the risks of imitative use of digital resources are that little attention is given to what might need to change by way of engagement and communication, nor to the kinds of questions raised in earlier conversations about security, document sharing, privacy and so on. Moving online in mediation practice typically ought to involve more careful attention than – say – a Skype chat with the family, during which there will be cross-talk, passing pets, confusion as to where the camera on the iPad might be, and poor images as the family is backlit against an open window.
      • Transformative: the stage we’re at now is to work out the ways in which digital resources not only supplement but also potentially radically transform the ways in which we work – which is where the design issue previously referred to comes in. I won’t dwell on that at this stage other than to note that the modern history of negotiation and mediation practice has been accompanied, from a very early stage, by the recognition that this is a chance to “fit the forum to the fuss (another Frank Sander expression).

      Principles: I’ll simply note here, perhaps for further discussion, some of the principles that might shape ‘best practice’:

      • inclusion: ensuring digital inclusion in order to ensure communication inclusion (noting that a current concern, quite apart from dispute resolution, is the level of digital exclusion in any jurisdiction, not just as a matter of infrastructure and bandwidth but also language, digital ‘literacy’ – all the more so as government services move online increasing the need for access, often for those populations less likely to have access)
      • confidence – in one’s capacity to use the technology as well as in the mediator and the integrity of all parties
      • confidentiality – of communications, shared documents, files (including video) that might be copied and stored (this was raised earlier in Paul’s discussion);
        bear in mind possibility that parties might not have their own computers/devices and may need to use either friends’ or public facilities
      • consider, too, that in some cultural settings, parties might expect and need to have the presence of a wider circle of support/family – not necessarily as direct participants but as support
      • transparency – digital access adds a layer of concern, beyond the normal need to provide transparency about how the process of mediation works, especially if parties feel less in control of the technical elements of the process
      • trust – what additional “trust mechanisms” need to be in place, over and above those conventionally employed to ensure confidence in the process and people? Absent some of the usual trust cues, what additional measures need to be implemented?

      Ensuring technology set-up

      • technical compatibility (less likely to be an issue as devices mostly communicate readily across platforms, but important for tasks such as document editing and mark-up; hence choose and stick to one document creation platform such as Word or Pages)
        keeping technology as simple as possible for the participants; as fully-featured as necessary for the task
      • set up shared platforms (eg if document sharing)
      • identify and become familiar with software platforms (Skype, Zoom, WhatsApp . . .); if necessary, offer pre-mediation assistance and practice with whatever platform is going to be used

      IT requirements?
      – encryption
      – secure document exchange
      – single document, multi-author facilities
      – file repository
      – video

      Additional options and issues
      – synchronous or asynchronous communication;
      – time zone management
      – managing “speaking order” . . . taking your mediator skills online!
      – ensuring parties not currently in any conversation are offline and the communication is confidential

      A bigger question – how might this change, or contribute to changing, modes of civic and public discourse?
      while ICT does foster narrowcasting, the translation of citizens into consumers whose priority is choice, autonomy and a new technoculture, that same technology can be seen and used in terms of its capacity to foster engagement, citizenship, civic dialogues:

      “In short, the interactive mediaspace offers a new way of understanding civilisation itself, and a new set of good reasons for engaging with civic reality more fully in the face of what are often perceived (or taught) to be the many risks and compromises associated with cooperative behaviour.” [Douglas Rushkoff, “Open Source Democracy: How Online Communication is Changing Offline Politics”, http://www.demos.uk, p. 16.]

    • #48593
      Hayden WilsonHayden Wilson
      Participant

      Thanks Nina for bringing us all together. A link to my Resolution Institute webinar on using Zoom is here:

    • #48719
      Mark KellyMark Kelly
      Participant

      Thanks Nina for setting this up, IMI for hosting, and all for posting. Great to see such collaboration in these strange times.

      Here is the link for a panel discussion hosted by AMINZ on mediating (online) during the lockdown:

      And here is one to a National Geographic article on “Zoom fatigue”, something we are no doubt all sometimes feeling!

      https://apple.news/AA9wxVyXFQHyrGh0YpTPDhA

      Stay well.

      Mark

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.