IMI Introduces Mediation Advocacy Competency Criteria

The competency of the parties’ advocates in mediations is widely recognized as a crucial factor in securing the best possible settlements. In order to establish a professional and technical basis for enabling disputing parties to identify the right people to advise and represent them in mediations, IMI has developed a comprehensive set of Competency Criteria of Mediation Advocates/Advisors.

IMI Mediation Advocacy Competency Criteria is a unique product of the ISC Mediation Advocacy Taskforce following an intensive year of deliberations, involving many users and including pilot programs, public consultations and focus groups. The Criteria have been supported and endorsed by a wide range of stakeholders, including the Mediation Committee of the International Bar Association, the Standing Conference of Mediation Advocates (SCMA), the Paris Bar, ACB Foundation Corporate ADR & Mediation and Herbert Smith Freehills LLP.

The Mediation Advocacy Taskforce was a joint effort of thought leaders and experts in mediation advocacy, drawn from a range of international mediation stakeholders:

Manon Schonewille (Chair, The Netherlands)
Prof. Hal Abramson (US)
Prof. Ewa Gmurzynska (Poland)
Aloysius Goh (Singapore)
Andrew Goodman (UK)
Jeremy Lack (Switzerland) 
Deborah Masucci (US)
Khory McCormick (Australia) 
Alexander Oddy (UK)
Sim Khadijah Binte Mohammad (Singapore)
Dimitra Triantafyllou (Greece).

The launch of the IMI Mediation Advocacy Competency Certification marks a critical step in the development of mediation around the globe and will enhance user confidence in using mediation to resolve disputes. Please see the Mediation Advocacy Competency Criteria at

IMI Mediation Advocacy Certification will:

  • help parties to make informed decisions about competent professionals experienced in advising and representing clients in the resolution of disputes and/or making deals through mediation and enable users to easily browse profiles and select competent and suitable Mediation Advocates/Advisors;
  • be available to any experienced Mediation Advocate/Advisor who is qualified by an Mediation Advocacy Qualifying Assessment Program (MA-QAP), that has been approved by the ISC