IMI International Peace Day Hybrid Conference 21 September 2022 | London, UK/Online

In-Person Registration

Zoom Registration

Date & Time:
Wednesday, 21 September 2022 | 5:00 – 7:30
BST
In-person: Doors open at 4:30 PM; Event begins at 5:00 PM BST
Virtual: 9:00 AM PT / 12:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM BST / 6:00 PM CEST |  Please check your local time zone here.

Venue:
Online via Zoom | In-Person: CEDR (New IDRC location) 100 St. Paul’s Churchyard, London

Mediation can resolve disputes and bring peace and healing to participants. As conflicts and crises abound worldwide, mediators’ transferrable skills and outlook as well as the structure of the mediation process have a larger role to play. To mark World Peace Day, join us in reflecting on how mediators can contribute to a more peaceful and just world.

We will explore mediators’ role in peacebuilding as well as their important role in enabling business to be conducted smoothly and Environmental, Social and Governance goals to be met by societies.

Bearing in mind that lawyers are often instrumental for mediations to be considered and their outcome to be successful, we will likewise explore mediation advocacy best practices – how it enhances a lawyer’s practice, what are the benefits for lawyers and clients alike and what is the role of training and the IMI Mediation Advocacy Criteria and certification.

Join the International Mediation Institute and an expert panel of mediation, legal industry and corporate leaders in reflecting on this platform for dialogue and cross-pollination of ideas!

Speakers’ bios and the programme may be found here!

Programme:

4:30 pm to 5:00 pmRegistrations in CEDR, networking
5:00 pm to 5:10 pmWelcome Address
IMI Outgoing Chair, Kim Taylor and IMI ED Ivana Ninčić Österle
5:10 pm to 5:55 pmPanel I – Mediation in the Service of a More Peaceful and Just World  
Moderator: Tat Lim
– Dr Nita Yawanarajah
– Dr Mark Anstey
– Anna Cervi
5:55 pm to 6:30 pmPanel II – Lawyers as Peacemakers and the Future of Mediation Advocacy
Moderator: Ivana Ninčić Österle
Pierrick Le Goff, IMI Chair
Manon Schonewille
Teresa Garcia-Reyes
6:30 pm to 6:45 pmBreak
6:45 pm to 7:30 pmPanel III – The Mediators’ Green Pledge and Mediating Environmental, Social and Governance Issues
Moderator: James South
Dr Karl Mackie
Elise Groulx Diggs
– Dr Anna Howard
7:30 pm to 8:30 pmCocktails and Networking

The conference will be followed by both in-person and online networking.

Online networking will be facilitated by Deborah Masucci, IMI Honorary Director and Liliana Amione, IMI Operations Manager.

This event is offered free of charge. Places for the in-person event will be allocated on a first come – first served basis (with IMI members and supporters given preference) after which there will be a waiting list.

This International Mediation Institute event is hosted by CEDR and supported by JAMS.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top